Symposium XVIII for the Study of Underdrawing and Technology in Painting

Brussels, 19-21 September 2012

The Royal Institute for Cultural Heritage (KIK/IRPA) and its Centre for the Study of the Flemish Primitives are honoured to announce the Van Eyck Studies Colloquium in Brussels on 19-21 September 2012. The colloquium is intended for art-historians, curators, conservators and scientists studying painting from the Southern Netherlands in the 15th century.

This is the eighteenth in a series of prestigious conferences for the ‘Study of Underdrawing and Technology in Painting’, initiated in 1975 by the Université catholique de Louvain-la-Neuve (UCL). The Triennial colloquium is alternately organized by the KIK/IRPA, the UCL and the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, who hosted in 2009 the seventeenth symposium dedicated to Rogier van der Weyden.

This 2012 colloquium has been dedicated to Van Eyck because of the recent research developments in his oeuvre, particularly in the Ghent Altarpiece that underwent an urgent conservation treatment in 2010 and will be restored in the following years by the KIK/IRPA. To encourage research on this masterpiece, scholars are warmly invited to make use of the recent website about the Ghent Altarpiece, supported by the Getty Foundation:

Main colloquium topics

  • Technical studies on paintings, drawings and miniature paintings by Jan Van Eyck;
  • Studies of underdrawings in Van Eyck’s paintings, his painting practice, materials and technique;
  • Documentary sources, original archival and historiographical research;
  • Research on iconography and iconology in the paintings of Jan Van Eyck.


The languages of the conference will be English and French.

Conference Venue

The conference venue is located at five minutes’ walk from the KIK/IRPA building: Royal Military Academy, rue Hobbema 8, 1000 Brussels, Belgium.

Scientific Committee

Christina Ceulemans (KIK/IRPA General Director a.i.), Jacqueline Couvert (UCL), Dr Christina Currie (KIK/IRPA), Dr Anne Dubois (UCL, FRS-FNRS), Dr Bart Fransen (KIK/IRPA), Dr Ron Spronk (Queen’s University, Canada-Radboud University, Holland), Dr Cyriel Stroo (KIK/IRPA), Dr Jan Van der Stock (professor, KU Leuven), Dr Dominique Vanwijnsberghe (KIK/IRPA), Dr Hélène Verougstraete (Emeritus Professor), Annelies Vogels (KU Leuven), Dr Lieve Watteeuw (KU Leuven)

Organizing Committee

Catherine Bourguignon (KIK/IRPA), Christina Ceulemans (KIK/IRPA General Director a.i.), Dr Christina Currie (KIK/IRPA), Dominique Deneffe (KIK/IRPA), Dr Bart Fransen (KIK/IRPA), Anne-Françoise Gerards (KIK/IRPA), Dr Valentine Henderiks (KIK/IRPA, ULB), Simon Laevers (KIK/IRPA), Hans Opstaele (KIK/IRPA), Edwin De Roock (KIK/IRPA), Dr Cyriel Stroo (KIK/IRPA), Dr Dominique Vanwijnsberghe (KIK/IRPA)


Koninklijk instituut voor het Kunstpatrimonium


Katholieke universiteit leuven
université catholique Louvain